Connect With Us

Upcoming Events

Talking Circle

The Talking Circle series is a moderated Q&A discussion between practitioners and attendees on topics related to human trafficking.

Talking Circle: Supporting Survivors of Human Trafficking in Tribal Communities

Date: Thursday, October 6

Time: 3:00 to 4:15 p.m. eastern | 12:00 p.m. to 1:15 p.m. pacific | 11:00 a.m. to 12:15 p.m. Alaskan time

Most victims of human trafficking do not self-identify or seek help because of the profound and prolonged trauma they experience. Traffickers often deceive victims with false promises of love, a good job, or a stable life, then lure or force them into trafficking; a trafficker may even look like an intimate partner. Recognizing the signs of trafficking and knowing how to offer support is critical in helping a victim heal. Join a panel of American Indians and Alaska Natives as they discuss identifying, reaching, and supporting the healing of potential victims of trafficking. Listen to their insight as they answer participant's questions and share information about enriching cultural perspective and understanding for anti-trafficking work, recognizing the signs of human trafficking, and accessing non-competitive federal funding to support Tribes in their victim services work.

Register at: Webinar Registration - Zoom

Talking Circle: Broadening Your Circle of Support: Resources to Help Healing in Your Tribal Community

Date: Wednesday, November 2

Time: 3:00 p.m. to 4:15 eastern time | 12:00 p.m. to 1:15 pacific time | 11:00 a.m. to 12:15 p.m. Alaskan time

Building and maintaining victim service programs require resources. Staff, program management, training, and funding are all necessary to sustain a tribal victim service program. Join a live discussion about no-cost, customized coaching available to tribes and tribal organizations from the Office for Victims of Crime. Ask the panel members questions about this culturally informed coaching that aligns to tribal program needs, connects peer programs, and builds staff skills. Additionally, hear about available federal funds and how they can be used to manage program operations, offer culturally sensitive services and healing programs, and pay for emergency service support such as housing and transportation. 

Register at: Webinar Registration - Zoom

Community of Care

Community of Care virtual gatherings bring together Indigenous and tribal-serving victim service providers to explore topics related to human trafficking. With each conversation, participants will grow their knowledge and their circle of support, while learning from other tribal victim service providers and human trafficking practitioners.

Human Trafficking in Indian Country

Identifying human trafficking in American Indian and Alaska Native communities is challenging. Signs of human trafficking can be subtle and may look different depending on an individual’s age, lived experiences, or other intersecting issue areas.

Join small group, peer-to-peer conversations hosted by the Human Trafficking Capacity Building Center. Offered in two formats — Notes from the Field and From Conversation to Practice — participants learn about human trafficking, tribal-specific risk factors and put their knowledge into action as they grow their circle of support.

Notes from the Field

During this knowledge-building session, Christine Stark will offer an overview of human trafficking in Indian Country and lead a discussion on  victim identification and tribal-specific considerations when supporting American Indian and Alaska Native survivors of trafficking.

Tuesday, October 11, 2022

12:00 p.m. to 2:00 p.m. pacific time/

3:00 p.m. to 5.00 p.m. eastern time

REGISTER

OR

Wednesday, October 12, 2022

8:00 a.m. to 10:00 a.m. pacific time/

11:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. eastern time

REGISTER

From Conversation to Practice

During this interactive session, Jolene Engelking with the Minnesota Indian Women’s Sexual Assault Coalition, will facilitate a discussion on risk factors to human trafficking followed by a hands-on community mapping workshop. Participants will learn the basics of community mapping and how to use it to inform a program’s human trafficking response in tribal communities.

Monday, October 24, 2022

10:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. pacific time/

1:00 p.m. to 3:00 p.m. eastern time

REGISTER

OR

Wednesday, October 26, 2022

12:00 p.m. to 2:00 p.m. pacific time/

3:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. eastern time

REGISTER

Help for Victims of Human Trafficking

If you or your loved one is a victim of a crime, help is available, including toll free hotlines and information about services in your state/territory. 

Contact Information

[email protected] or 1-844-682-0411